The Weekly Westin

Total Manuscript Word Count:  4,330

Hey guys and gals! Happy Monday! If that’s a thing. It’s a thing, right?

I hope you all had a productive and enjoyable week last week. Mine was busy of course. Work was crazy. I feel like I say that all the time but it’s been the absolute truth lately.

If you didn’t notice, my manuscript didn’t grow very much. I technically only added 108 words to my story last week. However, if you read last weeks post, you’ll know that I decided to change perspectives. I figured I may as well do this in the fourth chapter while my gut told me to. Naturally, this was almost like a first edit, not to mention some things that work in first person just don’t work in third. That said, even though my total word count didn’t grow, my novel did. There were parts that even I didn’t know were going to happen until I changed perspective. So this is a good thing.

Also, I had a major revelation on Saturday, but I can’t tell you what that is. All I can say is that I know how this book will end. As most ideas do, it just came to me out of nowhere. But I do think that this is how it has to end. I can’t wait for you guys to read it when it’s done.

Another bit of interesting news, I’ve acquired another analog writing tool. Well, I ordered it anyway. Can’t wait to show you guys. I bought a late 40’s to early 50’s Royal Quiet Deluxe typewriter. I’ve been wanting a typewriter for a while now and finally had the funds to get one so I did. I don’t know how much I’ll use it versus longhand or computer but I’m definitely excited to see how it works.

Well, that’s about all I have for you guys. I, unfortunately, have to get on the road to work. I cannot wait for vacation starting Saturday!

I hope you all have a wonderful week!

Happy writing!

–Trevor

Leave a comment